top of page
Search
  • kwikacgraferdana

Gettysburg: The Tide Turns Download For Pc [addons]

Updated: Mar 27, 2020





















































About This Game Gettysburg: The Tide Turns is a hex-based wargame set in one of the most decisive and iconic battles of the Civil War. 150 years ago, brave soldiers fought across this idyllic battlefield, and, now, we put you in their shoes. A Period PieceThe game captures the realities of 1860s combat through the granularity of hex based gameplay and an innovative randomized turn system. It is a tense and strategic package from the full, sweeping campaign to individual scenarios.Plan Your EngagementFeaturing the work of some of the best artists in the business, the game map and interface capture the period while providing the information you need as a commander.Exciting and fast paced gameplayYou will command a myriad of period units including infantry, cavalry, and artillery. Units vary in strength and morale, and, much like Battle of the Bulge, your success will depend on how you maneuver your forces and engage the enemy. Gettysburg: the Tide Turns goes beyond the "you go, I go" turn by randomizing when each division will move. This provides tension, as you must respond tactically as new opportunities present themselves.FeaturesPlay as the Union or Confederates across the entire scope of the battleTutorials and easy entry for new playersFull game rules and information for hardcore playersAn innovative movement system that randomizes turns for increased tensionBeautifully rendered maps & interfaces in period styleExtensive historical commentary & content includedPlay online, face to face, or against AI opponents a09c17d780 Title: Gettysburg: The Tide TurnsGenre: StrategyDeveloper:Shenandoah StudioPublisher:Slitherine Ltd.Release Date: 14 Jul, 2017 Gettysburg: The Tide Turns Download For Pc [addons] Really enjoying this game. The game follows the order of battle for Gettysburg, but adds a random element to the order of troop movement and combat each turn. This keeps the game fresh, and prevents it from becoming "solveable" after learning some pet moves. As other reviews have noted, there are some minor bugs, which probably should have been detected pre-release, considering how long this has been in the works, but having bought other games from the developer, I'm confident the bugs will be addressed. More importantly, its a fun, tactical game, that keeps changing each turn. Since it is unlikely that gamers will repeat the folly of Sickles and Barlow, or Rodes' misadventures, the random order element forces you to react each turn, rethink your overall strategy, and handle the problems that crop up during a battle. Great game at a great price!. Quick easy tactical game. Doesn't offer a lot of detailed information, but I guess that is why it is quick. It does offer commander names and unit experience to give flavor to our choices.Edited: minor issue I rand into has already been addressed by devs and this is day 1! Reasons to buy:1. Easy to learn2. Quick to play3. Has both AI and Face to Face options for variety4. Has the feel of the battle, first day Cavalry must delay Heth and Pender or it won't give time for units to arrive and hold Culp's and Cemetary later in the day.5. Cheap.Reasons to avoid:1. Still has some bugs that cause you to close game and restart from last position2. Graphics are only adequate and small annoyances in them (cannons pointing the wrong way or trails for bombardments remaining on map after bombardment over)Knowing Slitheine the main bugs will be worked out quickly and you can wrok past them until then.So for the price it is time to buy this one if you are looking for a quick, cheap and easy to learn game you can enjoy.. I am a wargamer who enjoys this style of game. Let me just say for $10 this is a great deal. I have had little problems with glitches or game freexzing. The few times I had these problems the 1st patch fixed them. There are still a couple such as artillery pointed in wrong direction, artillery targeting arrows remaining on screen, etc.. I have played over 26 hours and played all scenarios twice except the campaign. Positive:-Game is quick and not overly complicated-Very fun to play but can be frustrating due to mechanics-Graphics and sound affects are solid-Great value for the price-Quick response from the company to address any issues which is very importantNegatives:-Mechanics of the game with Chit Draw is iffy at best (CSA always manages to get 4 draws in a row during key turns) I like the concept but should modify where one side can only get 2 chit activations in a row. It is almost impossible for the Union to win when the CSA gets 4, 5, or 6 straight chit draws which happens all the time. -Play balance when moving into 2 or 3rd Star difficulty level is not good. There is no change to the AI. They simply add additional strength points to your opponents units which throws off any type of realism and makes CSA units super strong (CSA already start the game off too strong) .. One suggestion for play balance is to keep the same requirements of objectives hexes held and reduce the total number on the board. This will help the Union player focus in on these key hexes. For the CSA player either add more objective hexes on the board while keeping the requirements for victory the same. - Passage of Lines** this is my number 1 complaint with this game which makes a very good game average. Due to the chit draw moving process you are stuck with weak units on the front line holding objective hexes with fresh full strength units lined up behind them unable to move into the hex because the depleted unit is in the hex and it is not allowed to move. This should be an easy fix where a unit can simply move into any hex if occupied by a friendly unit (even if not in the same Corps) thus taking its place and the replaced unit goes to the hex the previous unit occupied thus switching hexes. It is frustrating to see the whole Union line shattered while you have a fresh Corps lined up right behind it. Maddening- Unoppossed movement. The CSA can move directly in front of Union units in their ZOC freely with no penalty. ZOC does not exist for movement. They should either be forced to stop or defending units should be able to get a free shot at them. -Not a real problem but the whole battle revolves around the 3 objective hexes right next to Gettysburg. Most of the CSA moves into Gettysburg with little movement towards Culps Hill or to the South toward the Round Tops.-Even more minor is that a N (North) arrow should be on the map for simply orientation. As well as marking Devil's Den on the map due to its iconic part of the battle.Overall I like the game and recommend it. There are several large mechanic issues with the game but for the price, quick and easy format, and most importantly it is fun, this is a great deal.. Only played the Day 1 Scenario as the Union so far but I am not enjoying this game much at all.The random chit pull combined with the enormous amount of territory units can move per turn just throws any strategy and tactics out the window. The enemy can potentially string together two moves and two combats without you being able to do a single thing about it, and in those two moves armies can move across what would have been miles of marching.For example, following traditional deployments, I had placed the Union I Corps along Seminary Ridge\/Oak Ridge (as my cavalry auto-retreated without firing a shot from McPherson's Ridge), and the initial units of XI Corps were positioned to the north of Gettysburg. The only enemy facing me were a few depleted brigades from Heth in the valley between McPherson's & Seminary Ridges.Then the CSA drew an entire Corps of reinforcements which, in a single turn, went from not even being on the map AT ALL to moving down Mummasburg Road BEHIND my I Corps, one of their units even making it to Barlow's Knoll, pinning one of my depleted units. The next chit was the CSA combat chit, which they used to obliterate my unit on Barlow's Knoll. Then the turn ended, all the chits went back in the cup.Out next? The same CSA Corps that just arrived. They then promptly moved into Gettysburg itself, or behind my units on Oak Ridge. Out next? CSA combat chit. Which they used to obliterate my unit on Oak Ridge. So we went from there being NO Confederate forces on that part of the map at all, to an entire division marching in BEHIND me and attacking me from the rear, with another division marching right into town. They covered a distance of miles in the blink of an eye. Rommel couldn't have done better.There is just WAY too much randomness, units march WAY too far in a single turn, and there is NO reason to keep units within their own command structures. Feel free to shuffle up and intermix units from different Corps as there are no reasons to maintain unit cohesion. No benefit is derived from it, and no penalty received from a lack of it.In fact, you might be better off mixing your troops up, as all of the units from a Corps move at once regardless of where they are. So if you deploy historically with I Corps west of Gettysburg and XI Corps to the north, you may find events veering out of control in parts of the battlefield you have no control over. Whereas, if you mix them all up, you have the chance to at least move some units all over the battlefield instead of all units in one small part, which allows you to react to enemy movements better. Seems like a terrible way to model a historical battle to me.. Fix this game and I'll fix my review. I gave up on abouth 30th freeze during one game.. As a veteran wargamer and a fan of the Civil war, I wanted to see how the Battle Hymn Vol.1 boardgame could be adpated on computer. I must say that the basic mechanics of the boardgame are nicely put into pixels : the map is beautiful, the chit system is the same, the movement and combat systems are very similar.BUTThe AI is terrible. During my first game (Day1) as CSA, I could easily grab 2 objectives near Little Round Top 5 turns before the end. Then the computer (with max AI !!!) only seemed to optimise its defensive positions around Cemetery Hill, and absolutely neglected to counterattack despite big local numerical advantage and the certainty of defeat if staying passive.Big potential, but AI needs to be drastically upgraded.. I played the First Day scenario over a period of four hours, and did not encounter any bugs in V 1.00. The "advance after combat" crash never happened to me, and I did it many times. Granted, I have a very high-end machine, so that may be why I had no problems. It would be nice to see support for 3440x1440 that can fill a 34" curved screen monitor; I have Acer Predator I'm an old school grognard, my first war game was Avalon Hill Afrika Korps board game in 1970. So I like these kinds of games - Decisive Campaigns is superb. The only oddity I found in the scenario was that the Union I Corps has the same star symbol as the XII Corps. Was this intentional, or did you just run out of symbols? The only other suggestion I have is that the map be made to look a little more contemporary; sometimes I have a hard time distinguishing the high ground from the low. I know you are trying to be true to the origional cardboard and paper map, but this is an improvement that would probably be welcomed. Other than that, I am very pleased with my first game and will likely spend a great deal of time playing it.ADDENDUM: I got the game freeze crash on the last turn of the Day 2 scenario, so I guess hardware isn't the answer. I'm sure this will be fixed.. Okay, I really like Slitherine & Matrix games--as evidenced by the many I have purchased through the years. I am also a big fan of both strategic and tactical games, as well as the CW genre. And, I really want to like this game--and will likely keep investing lunch hours into it--but, at this point, there are just too many frustrations to recommend it.Pros----I love the graphics and simplicity of the tactical map and unit configurations. They are reminicent of the old Avalon Hill boardgames. The way the lines form to connect is a really nice touch. It really gives the look and feel of the period.I'm also captured by the chit draw mechanic which can really complicate trying to coordinate attacks and movements. This is esp. effective at relating some of the stress related to that particular historical battle.I turned off the music, but I kept the sound on and wow--nice touch w\/ the effects of both the guns in battle resolution as well as the tense atmosphere established during enemy movement. LOVE IT!I like the undo feature on moves which gives you the ability to see what is likely to happen if you do this or that, and then take it back. This is esp. a needed feature given the limited tutorial help the game gives.I appreciate the arrows which clearly indicate the likely results of combat. These do a nice job of informing you as to whether you should advance or retreat w\/o complicating the visuals or taking away from the feel of the game.I like the advance and retreat mechanics prior to and after combat.I like the way cavalry units 'may' choose to automatically w\/d before combat.So many historical touches make this game a real gem in the realm of potential--esp. since there's a multiplayer option.Cons----I have yet to finish a game due to game-breaking bugs. I have started 5 campaigns now, and been unable to complete even one of them. Granted, I started playing on the day of release. I also understand the history behind the development of this game and how Slitherine rescued this potential gem from the discarded pile. But, I haven't just his one snag--but many. I've had units that couldn't move so I couldn't finish my turn, enemy units that couldn't decide to advance so I couldn't finish their turn, combats that didn't resolve so... you guessed it... I couldn't finish a turn.Frankly, I can't even comment on the AI or combat mechanics or balance issues, b\/c I've not gotten more than 13 turns into a campaign yet. I'm still trying, b\/c the game really has my eye. But, dear friends and neighbors, it's really hard to like a game when you can't finish a turn.Now, multi-player is another issue I'd love to explore. However, I'm not excited about playing a game w\/ a friend (much less a random match) when there's a good chance the game will break before we can finish. What's more, I did look online to see the lobby and see how many people might be available, and there wasn't a single person listed. Now, it is still the first week... but still... This just confirms for me that I need to come back to this in a month and see what's up then.So, I'm at 2.8 hours game time at this point--the better part of 3 lunches in 7 days. But, I don't recommend it at this time since I can't affirm a title--even in EA--when I can't make it through a full game w\/o a crash or turn locking up. BTW, you can only save when it's your move, which makes trying to do repeated saves to prevent a crash really a challenge. Additionally, the save game screen is far from simple or streamlined. It is very awkward and if you're not careful, you can go to the save screen and then click the wrong option to go back only to find you've exited your game.If this had been released as an EA or EA Beta, I'd be sending in my feedback and cheering them on. As it is, I'm very disappointed in the state of the product at it's release. Slitherine is historically very professional and reliable in my experience, so check back in October and read the new reviews. For now, avoid the thrill of disappointment and embrace the agony of holding fast to your money until the game works.. Eric Lee Smith designed an excellent boardgame covering five battles of American Civil War way back in 1992. The game was called Across Five Aprils, published by one of the wargaming heavyweights, Victory Games. Across Five Aprils was a light-weight wargame with an innovative chit-pull system for activating units. The uncertainty of chit-pulling reflected the chaos of battlefield wonderfully. One would never know if the enemy was going to pre-empt your plans by moving before you get to attack, or worse even, attack while your troops were still trying to form their lines. The system was one of my favourite ones, easy to play, exciting and very replayable. Unfortunately for reasons unknown, it never got used in other games.What does this has to do with Gettysburg: The Tide turns, you ask? Well, this game is straight adaptation of the game system presented in A5A. And it is designed by same Eric Lee Smith - the board game took 25 years to reach computerized form. The computer version had a painful history due to original publisher Shenandoah Games not being able to bring the game out and it moved under Slitherine's umbrella. There were apparently quite a lot of technical problems getting the game finished and finally released. I'm not going to elaborate on them, other reviews and Slitherine's comments have told the story already. All this is irrelevant to me, as Gettysburg: The Tide Turns finally brings a forgotten gem of wargaming to public reach again, and it does it very well. The rules are clear, game is easy and quick to play with varied results each time. The graphics presentation is top notch, with the living formations making a great impression on the vintage map. My only wish is that the game had born under more fortunate stars, as I would have loved to see the same game system expanded to other Civil War battles.. This is a great wargame and anyone who says otherwise is some sort of rivet-counting mutant.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page